We Have Concert Tickets Too! Check Us Out On Instagram!
Label:Interscope Records
Genre:Hip Hop
Release Date:2003-11-14
Vinyl Color:Black

G Unit

Beg For Mercy

Quantity 1

Free Shipping

Safe & secure checkout

30 Day Return

Used - Ask for pictures!

Beg for Mercy is the debut studio album by G-Unit. The album was released on November 14, 2003, nine months after 50 Cent's successful debut album Get Rich or Die Tryin'.

For this release, G-Unit was composed of rappers 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks and Young Buck, with support from Tony Yayo, who was an original member but was in prison at the time of the album's recording and release. The Game was inducted into the group after recording sessions were already finished.

"I've been promoting G Unit since before I even had a record deal," says 50. "All the music I put on the mixtape circuit was 50 Cent and G Unit."

As the album was recorded, Tony Yayo was sentenced to jail on charges of gun possession and bail jumping, and so he makes only two appearances on the entire record, on the tracks "Groupie Love", and "I Smell Pussy". His image, which is from a photo taken from the photo shoot for Get Rich or Die Tryin', is seen on the brick wall of the album cover as he could not be photographed due to the jail sentence.

At the time of the album's release, rapper the Game was just placed in G-Unit, therefore he is not photographed, nor does he make an appearance on the album. He does however make cameos in the videos for singles "Wanna Get To Know You" & "Poppin' Them Thangs". He is also mentioned in the lyrics of "Poppin' Them Thangs" when Young Buck raps, "You ain't no Crip like Snoop, / You ain't no Blood like Game."

In its first week of sales, Beg for Mercy sold 377,000 copies. It debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard 200, behind 2Pac's Tupac: Resurrection, & Jay-Z's The Black Album. Its bow was moved up from November 18 to thwart piracy, as was Beg for Mercy. Beg for Mercy then sold 330,000 copies in its 2nd week to peak at No. 2 on the Billboard 200, while moving another 195,000 units in its 3rd week. By April 2008, it had sold over 2.7 million units in the U.S., 9.8 million copies worldwide, and has since been certified 2× Platinum by the RIAA.

Track listing

1. "G-Unit" 3:29

2. "Poppin' Them Thangs" 4:00

3. "My Buddy" 3:44

4. "I'm So Hood" 2:25

5. "Stunt 101" 3:52

6. "Wanna Get to Know You" (featuring Joe) 4:25

7. "Groupie Love" (featuring Butch Cassidy) 4:14

8. "Betta Ask Somebody" 3:53

9. "Footprints" 4:21

10. "Eye for Eye" 3:55

11. "Smile" 3:38

12. "Baby U Got" 4:03

13. "Salute U" 3:00

14. "Beg for Mercy" 2:38

15. "G'd Up" 4:47

16. "Lay You Down" 4:03

17. "Gangsta Shit" 4:12

18. "I Smell Pussy" 3:58

19. "Collapse (G-Unit Freestyle)" (Bonus Track) 1:37

Label:Interscope Records
Genre:Hip Hop
Release Date:2003-11-14
Vinyl Color:Black